651-204-9664 info@foodsafetyguy.com

Class Information

Certification Process

By taking the class and certification exam you become ServSafe certified. That means you passed an exam showing you have enough book knowledge to run your food business in a way that you can make good decisions to keep the food safe. The only way to recertify your ServSafe is to take the exam again.

Most states now require that at least one person (usually a manager) who can influence the flow of food in the kitchen has a certificate from one of the approved test companies. There are several choices, but we currently use ServSafe as it is most widely recognized and it meets the needs of all our customers. Some states centralize the state certification process and require you to send a copy of the certificate to them to validate that you met the requirement. Then your health inspector doesn’t have to worry about which certificate works, they only have to look for one. Other states leave it to the inspector to make the determination during their inspection.

Minnesota has a state certificate; Wisconsin and Iowa do not.

Click below to link to the Minnesota certificate application.


The cost for full certification classes is $175. This includes the course book with test answer sheet (I pay postage unless it is overnight), the full day of instruction, and the exam.

The cost for recertification is $90.

Initial class

The 8-hour course uses the ServSafe book and materials by the National Restaurant Association. This course will absolutely satisfy the requirements for any state that necessitates management certification. We teach the full day and then give the exam at the end.

We don’t sell you short on class time. We go through the materials with two things in mind: your certification test at the end of the day and your ability to comply with your health department when you run your business. We are forbidden from looking at test questions and from teaching to the test. We take that seriously.

Recertification Class

To renew your certification status in Iowa and Wisconsin, the requirement is to pass the exam again. That means in these states every 5 years you will need to take the ServSafe exam (or equivalent) and pass. In Wisconsin we offer these options for you: test only; read the book and test or sit in the class and test; and the book, class, and test.

In Minnesota you are not required to take the test again, but you must engage in ongoing education to maintain your state certificate. You must have 4 hours of class time within 3 years of receiving your state certificate to renew your state certificate. Most people will come to one of our already scheduled classes and attend the 4 hours in the morning. FoodSafetyGuy instructors are all qualified to sign your 4-hour certificate to submit to the state.

Class FAQ

1. How long is each class?
2. Where is class held?
3. What should I bring?
4. What is your refund policy
5. How Many CFMs Do I Need?

Whatever your need and staffing, it is the goal of Food Safety Guy to make it as easy as possible for you to be compliant with your state, your parent company, or your own comfort level.